POSSIBLE first MH transaction, please advise...? - Posted by Brandon Treat

Posted by Kevin (GA) on July 21, 2001 at 06:04:18:

Brandon,

Isn’t it funny how all the older and cheap MH’s that I see or hear about are brown?

Any, I’m no expert here. But, I would suggest purchasing Lonnie’s book Deal On Wheels. It is full of very insightful information on how to proceed. There are so many issues to look into that it would be very difficult to cover in a simple post.

I have been a real estate appraiser for years, and let me tell you, I’m just now beginning to learn how to think like an investor. Mh’s seem like the best way to start because of the low exposure to loss. I have found Lonnie’s book to be very, very helpful. You’ll want to read it twice because it is so full of information. It’s an easy read too.

While you’re waiting for the book, I would start out by seeing what condition the MH is in. How much to pretty it up (paint, cpt, etc…) Can it stay on the lot? Do you need a dealer’s license to do this where you live? Business License? What’s the market-is there a lot of vacant mh’s for sale in the area? what’s the rent for the lot? What are the MH’s renting for?

You see, there are so many things to think about and learn and the book will really help. The most important thing to know in my mind is to start learning the market.

Sorry I can’t help any furter. Good Luck.

POSSIBLE first MH transaction, please advise…? - Posted by Brandon Treat

Posted by Brandon Treat on July 20, 2001 at 21:05:25: