Possible deal - Posted by Donna in AZ

Posted by Donna in AZ on April 21, 2007 at 09:38:15:

What a story - thank you for sharing it. I’m pretty green so am probably easy to play at this point.

I’ll stick with private sellers (and PM’s) at this point while I’m still learning. I would not enjoy going through what you shared.

The questions you asked made me think ‘if the park already has a handyman, why doesn’t the salesman tell the park to buy it and use their handyman and resell it if there’s so much profit there?’

Then there’s the 55+ issue of snowbirds leaving. When I mentioned that to him, his response was that most of the people there still need to work, so it’s not so much snowbirds. I’m not sure I buy that, especially after input from others in my market about 55+ parks and timing.

I’ve got to remember to not be a motivated buyer so I can look at these deals objectively. So much to learn, I just want to be wise about it.

Thank you so much for your input -
Donna in AZ

Possible deal - Posted by Donna in AZ

Posted by Donna in AZ on April 20, 2007 at 14:59:35:

This is a possible deal I’d love input on.

Sales Rep for park (I met him back in December) called me last month about this one - I called him back yesterday. Park doesn’t do anything with used homes, just new ones. They are looking for someone to help them out on this one.

Home: 1972 DW 24 x 44 2 bd 2 bth. Is 55+ park, but most residents are year round people who still need to work (park located centrally so close to bus and freeways). Home needs carpet, paint, floor, and general sprucing up.

Situation: Family moved mom out, and just want to be done with it. Originally wanted $4500, now down to $3000 (pretty sure could negotiate $2K, maybe even $1K).