Personal safety when looking at repo's - Posted by Jeff-oh

Posted by Louis P. on February 18, 2006 at 08:02:36:

Hi Bobbie,
Ive been an insurance agent for 25+ years.
Whenever I yell “Insuarance Agent!”
They’ll always hide. But ya’ know since Im a good agent
I always find them…(smile ) Ooops, Ive given away a key to my success! Lou

Personal safety when looking at repo’s - Posted by Jeff-oh

Posted by Jeff-oh on February 17, 2006 at 11:25:35:

The other day I went shopping for homes. I was visiting various homes on the Repo list. Bank’s sign was in the window. I used my universal key to enter and look around. I found a home I was interested in so I called the park about it to fine the lot rent details.

Her: You went into that home???

Me: Yea, it’s on the bank’s repo list.

Her: But there is someone living in that home, that’s why the electric is on.

Me: Does the bank know about this?

Her: No they’re just living there.

Me: And are they paying lot rent?

Her: Yea (a little tentative)

I love this business… That PM has the cahonas to tell me $4000 is due in back lot rent, yet is collecting from a squatter. The fact that she even allows a squatter will tell you the condition of this park… it is a real GEM.

Karl, you know the home and the park.

This leads me to the question, have any of you run into someone at repo that was not supposed to be there? I always just opened the door and went on in, now I definitely will knock first. May even consider getting a concealed carry permit.

What steps do you take for your own personal safety? This little incident got me thinking.

Jeff

Re: Personal safety when looking at repo’s - Posted by Steve (IN)

Posted by Steve (IN) on February 25, 2006 at 08:29:05:

Let me take a guess at which park it is. Green Acres MHP??? What a gem.

Re: Personal safety and breaking into repos - Posted by Karl (Oh)

Posted by Karl (Oh) on February 17, 2006 at 23:32:00:

Jeff,