Once in a Lifetime Opportunity!! - Posted by Tom Mellinger

Posted by ZAC on June 26, 2001 at 14:07:46:

VERY SOUND ADVICE JOE. IM VERY NEW TO THA BIZ (IM AN EMBRYO)…BUT STILL IVE LEARNED THAT ONE OF THA DEADLIEST SINS IN THIS BUSINESS IS: PROCRASTINATION ! IT CAN AND WILL KILL YOUR BUSINESS. ONCE IM IN THE FLOW OF THINGS, I INTEND TO TREAT EVERY DEAL AS A “LIFE OR DEATH” SITUATION (CAUSE FOR SOME OF US…IT IS). THATS JUST ME. TOM CAN GET CRAZY PAID IF HE MAKES A MOVE NOW. HESITATE…AND HE’S SURE TO BLEED…A LOT. GO GET THAT MONEY, TOM!! ITS YOURS.

Once in a Lifetime Opportunity!! - Posted by Tom Mellinger

Posted by Tom Mellinger on June 25, 2001 at 08:59:32:

I’ve recently come upon a deal that could be a dream come true. An elderly lady is selling her house + 5 cottages on Lake Michigan. Her husband passed away last year, and it is too much for her to handle. She said the property is appraised at $670K, but she would be willing to go less if she can work out a deal without going through a broker. She is willing to work out a deal that she would finance with a buyer. I have gone through the CS course, but only completed a couple of small deals. I would like to do this deal with little or no money out of my pocket, but I don’t know if that is possible with so large a purchase price. Her cottages rent for $600/wk and are all booked though the summer and into the fall. She also rents quite a few of them through the winter. Based on fair market value, I could also easily rent the house for $1000-$1200 a week. Do any of you have any suggestions as to the best way to work out financing with the seller? She does not need a lot of cash, just the steady montly income. Would I be better served working out a lease-option or a contract for deed? If so, is it unusual to have a longer term, say 10 years, before the due on sale clause would kick in? Please respond with any comments as I am hoping to put together a deal within the next couple of weeks!

Thanks, Tom