Never say "Flip"? - Posted by Mike

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on February 08, 2002 at 21:50:50:

Sit down with him. You will find out if he is rehabbing your way; or only interested in his way. A discussion with him may be a good thing for you.

Never say “Flip”? - Posted by Mike

Posted by Mike on February 08, 2002 at 17:06:48:

Hi everybody!

I’m new at this but am working on getting my “team” together. So far, I’ve talked to a couple financial hard-money lenders that are happy to look at funding rehabilitation projects, and now tried contacting a few realtors, hoping to get leads on some potential rehabs or foreclosures.

One of these realtors had an interesting reaction. When I told him that I was interested in finding some properties to either flip or rehab myself, his first reaction was, “Ok, first off, please don’t ever say ‘flip’. It’s kind of an ‘illegal’ term to use in our industry and is severely frowned upon.”

Now although he wasn’t saying that flipping was illegal, he seemed alarmed that I even used such a word. He also told me that he had personally done rehabbing for about 14 years and wants to sit down and talk to me to find out if I?m really the person to be doing this. Of course, he said not to take that defensively, but he just wants to make sure that ?I would be the right kind of person to get into this.?

I?m not sure what all that means, but I?m wondering if I should bother with this realtor (who claims over a decade of experience in rehabs) or if any of you have run into this disfavor with the term ?flipping?.

By the way, of course this one phone call is not going to dampen my spirits or send me away looking for a slave-wage life, but if anyone knows the best way to break through this glass ceiling with realtors, please let me know. I?m going to do this stuff one way or another, but if I?m going to do it, I want to do it right.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks again and have a great day!

~~ Mike ~~