Need HELP with this deal (urgent) - Posted by Jolene, CA

Posted by Jolene, CA on July 14, 2001 at 16:49:30:

Thank you for your advice. I feel that the license would hinder my own investment as well. I am going to sell this house for my friend, and look for other opportunities. What if you have your own broker’s license. Would it be better?

Need HELP with this deal (urgent) - Posted by Jolene, CA

Posted by Jolene, CA on July 13, 2001 at 02:24:04:

I am a real estate agent. My friend called me and said he just lost his job and wanted me to help him sell his house. He wants to move out of state. The house is a fixer and needs a lot of work (they have 6 kids, which put much more wear and tear to the property). The recent sold comps are between $300K ~ $325K, with average of $309K. They expect to sell the house for about $300K. Repair work would probably be about $20K. They would also have to pay commission ($15K) plus closing costs. They have 2 loans combined of about $210K. They may be willing to take a little less in price.

I see this as an opportunity. We have signed the listing agreement already, but I have not put it in the MLS. I wonder if I should buy this property as my own investment. Instead of making only a few thousand dollars and let the brokers and uncle sam take all the profits, why not make it my first investment?

However, I am concerned about the legal issues since I am supposed to be the listing agent. Also, if my broker found out, it would probably be a problem (I just started in RE in March this year). Should I just put it on the market and make a few bucks on commission? Or is there a way that I can do this deal and make it a win-win situation? (I don’t want to take advantage of my friend either.)

Maybe I should put it on the market and see what kind of offers we can receive (which give them a more realistic view on the price?)