Legal or Illegal? Advice Please. - Posted by c carter

Posted by Robin (AZ) on November 14, 2001 at 14:09:08:

I’m no lawyer (only a law student, and therefore cannot give legal advice), but if you tell a lender something that is untrue, that is fraud. You don’t need a law degree to figure that out, only a dictionary. Your common sense tells you that it is a problem, or you wouldn’t have posted. I know plenty of people who have done this, with no consequences-- except that they have to switch lenders all of the time, because they keep defrauding everyone. Not my idea of good business practice.

I don’t know your circumstances, but perhaps you could ask your lender what defines owner-occupied. Ask, “How long do I have to live at the property before I can rent it out, and still qualify for an owner-occupied loan?” I don’t know what they will say. Be prepared to comply, if you ever want to use that lender again. Just my 2 cents,

Robin

Legal or Illegal? Advice Please. - Posted by c carter

Posted by c carter on November 14, 2001 at 13:17:37:

I’m a new investor and like many other new investors, I am having a problem with acquiring the initial downpayment (i.e., 10-25%) as a real estate investor. As a result, I would like to know if it is legal or illegal for a investor to purchase a home as if it would be a primary residency and susequently rent the property. This option would be the only way, at this time, for me to afford a property because the downpayment would be less (i.e. 3-10%). I would appreciate any feedback or advice.
Thanks

Re: Legal or Illegal? Advice Please. - Posted by Joe

Posted by Joe on November 14, 2001 at 20:52:35: