Landlord stories? - Posted by Chris

Posted by Ronald * Starr (in No CA) on July 10, 2002 at 17:07:54:

John Merchant–(WA)-------------

I just checked the legal forum of CREONLINE.COM and did not find your name. You might want to consider reading and posting over there also. The operators of this website are not eager to have us “civilians” answering questions there, but they would likely welcome such a helpful, knowledgeable attorney as you.

I did post a few answers there, but to qustions that were about investing, not the law.

Good Investing and Good PostingRon Starr*

Landlord stories? - Posted by Chris

Posted by Chris on July 10, 2002 at 14:59:48:

Does anyone have experiences to share, either good or bad, about their becoming a landlord for the first time? I’m a writer for a national business magazine, doing an article of advice for would-be landlords. You can reach me directly at haida5000@aol.com.

Re: Landlord stories? How about an old favorite? - Posted by GL(ON)

Posted by GL(ON) on July 11, 2002 at 18:57:48:

Tenant calls landlord,in January or February screaming that the furnace doesn’t work, the place is freezing, the baby is turning blue, etc. etc. etc.

Landlord rushes to tenant’s aid, finds furnace working perfectly, heat blasting from all registers, all the windows wide open and the family sitting around in shorts halter tops and bare feet.

I have actually seen this more than once.

My favorites were the family with all the windows open and a snow drift 3 inches high on the back of the sofa who couldn’t figure out why sitting on the sofa in their underwear was cold and drafty.

The other was the guy with the air conditioning going full blast (in January!) who was complaining about the cold. He explained it was his mother in the next room who was cold. Why he needed to burn my electricity to fight my furnace I don’t know, everyone else just shoves the thermostat up to 95 in the shade and opens the windows.

Dead People… - Posted by Adam King