Is it legal? - Posted by Michelle L. Matthews

Posted by Michelle L. Matthews on December 06, 1998 at 14:03:15:

Thanks, that’s simple enough!

Is it legal? - Posted by Michelle L. Matthews

Posted by Michelle L. Matthews on December 05, 1998 at 09:59:46:

I am new to real estate investing and I have recently moved to Georgia. Before I relocated I spoke to some people who were doing very well in investing, located just outside of Atlanta.

I worked a little with agents when I was in Alabama, but before I could get anything going I had to move due to my job.

Since I’ve been here I have been told by a few agents, that to contract a property and then asign it is illegal and acting as an agent without a license. One agent even advised me to read some Georgia statues in which I did, but I still don’t see where he’s coming from with this illegal business. He also told me that in Georgia you could only own so much property, which is again ???. He saids he’s been in the business for thirty years.

Another agent who happens to also have a school told me the same thing and is now sending me some information on his school, so that I can prepare for the license exam. I never really wanted a license because with that comes to many rules and regulations, not to mention that I would have to be under the control of a Broker for 3 years.

I’ve taking the course before in North Carolina, but I did not take the license exam, I basically took the course just for some basic knowledge about real estate.

Anyway, I would like to hear from some investors in the Georgia area, who can give me some guidance on investing in our area.

Thanks

Re: Is it legal? (@#$% ??) - Posted by Bill Gatten

Posted by Bill Gatten on December 07, 1998 at 23:52:14:

I agree with Mark (whatever !@#$% means, I second it! Dogonne it!).

This broker your refer to is apparently very covetous of anyone who would dare to deal in Real Estate and be more successful at it that he.