I'm in a contractor pickle! - Posted by Carey_PA

Posted by Carey_PA on June 22, 2001 at 08:39:13:

Just a note: HE IS NOT MY BROTHER! (I wouldn’t let my brother do the work lol)

He is a co-workers brother and the guy gets rave reviews from others that had him do work for them!

But I most likely will stick to my first contractor, unless we can’t agree on terms and start date, etc.

Thanks,

CAREY

I’m in a contractor pickle! - Posted by Carey_PA

Posted by Carey_PA on June 21, 2001 at 20:02:32:

Hi all,

This is nothing big but I’m new to this and I don’t quite know how to handle it.

I had several estimates from contractors and then I was settling on one and a co-worker recommended his brother. SO the brother comes out and takes a look and says he’ll get an estimate to me.

Well today, I verbally told another contractor ok, but I know he’s screwing me on some things. (we argued over price a bit and I got him to knoce $700 off the estimate)

So I go to check my faxes and THE CO-WORKERS BROTHER had sent me the estimate!!! Low and behold he’s an honest guy and ALL OF HIS PRICES ARE REASONABLE!!!

Now I’m in a pickle…what do I do? Do I give it to the brother (his price is $2,000 lower than the other guy and I know people that he’s done work for and they say he does GREAT WORK) and if I do give it to the brother, how do I break the news to the other guy??

Thanks in advance!!

CAREY

I would like to add… - Posted by SCook85

Posted by SCook85 on June 21, 2001 at 22:38:42:

that a $2000 discrepancy for a rehab is not a lot of money provided you are talking a full rehab. $2000 discrepancies for a paintjob is a lot.

I would rather pay good contractors more money to get my work done quick and right then shop for the lowest guy in town who may or may not do a good job, and who may or may not finish the job, and who may or may not do it in a timely manner.