I'm drawing a blank... - Posted by Soapymac

Posted by DavidV on November 11, 1998 at 17:05:05:

If the owner is willing to finance 80% with 20% down get him/her to make their 80% a 2nd position. Then get a 1st mortgage for 20% from a bank, hard money lender, or Bill Bronchick. :slight_smile:

I’m drawing a blank… - Posted by Soapymac

Posted by Soapymac on November 11, 1998 at 10:13:07:

and I hope someone can get my thought processes moving.

I am a RE agent. I’ve located a $95K FSBO duplex that I would purchase for my own account. I have also been told by one of his close friends that he would take less just to get out.

Homework time. Did a drive by…appears to be in reasonable condition on the outside. Have not yet checked with the owner to express my interest because I’ve come up against a little problem.

Each unit is a 2BR 1BA. My homework suggests it is a LEGAL duplex (there’s a problem in this area of the state - a vacation spot - with LEGAL VS ILLEGAL).

I have MLS available…and there are NO COMPS AVAILABLE that are either active listings or SOLD within the last year. All the comps for multiple family units come up as 3, 4, 8, or 12 apartments. To top it all, in the whole COUNTY there are only 15 multiple family units (LEGAL) that are listed in MLS.

Given this, how do I determine a comparable price range? I don’t want to cheat the owner (he has a mouth and knows how to use it), but I do not want to buy a “pig in a poke” either.

Suggestions? Or am I hung up on something here? Education would be appreciated.

Soapymac

Thanks to all! - Posted by Soapymac

Posted by Soapymac on November 12, 1998 at 07:09:34:

Seems the clutch between my brain and my mouth was disengaged. Thanks to all of you that contributed. I will keep you informed of what goes on.

Soapymac

Re: I’m drawing a blank… - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on November 11, 1998 at 15:33:04:

Soapy: