I'm a Newbie in search of input - Posted by Marcus

Posted by Glenn-PA on November 20, 1999 at 16:31:03:

I’m a part-timer so understand my experience is limited… So far I’ve bought and sold a fourplex, and just sold my third residential rehab. I’ve only used a contingency clause on one occasion so far. I don’t like the partner clause since I don’t have a partner. My contingency clause is both simple and broad - “Subject to inspection and repair estimates satisfactory to the buyer.” Only used it once but nobody complained.

I’m a Newbie in search of input - Posted by Marcus

Posted by Marcus on November 20, 1999 at 15:40:37:

Hi!

My name is Marcus and I’ve been reading articles on this web site for about a year now, and I finally feel I’m ready to make deals.

I’m cleaning up my credit report and haven’t yet seen bankers about getting a loan. I’m just getting contracts together with the “subject to approval of partner” clause.

I think I want to begin my REI by flipping property in the Chicago area, and plan to build up my “buyers” database. I understand that flipping is good for “no money down” deals because I’m still working on getting loans.

I have a sales (previous profession) so persistence is a given.

What may be a better plan for a beginner? Does anyone have expierence with the Chicago area? What would you have done better if you began again?

Much Appreciated!
Marcus

Get in there and mix it up. - Posted by Joe Kaiser

Posted by Joe Kaiser on November 20, 1999 at 20:47:48:

Marcus,

My partner and I signed up two deals before noon today, each one completely different than the other but each having a similar beginning . . . a seller with a problem gave us a call.

Don’t pin yourself down to a certain technique or strategy or plan. That’s not the way things actually work. Opportunities come from every direction and what doesn’t work is trying to fit them to your plan.