???How do you foreclose on a property????? - Posted by johnman

Posted by johnman on December 24, 1998 at 09:20:22:

Irwin,

I just want to know how it’s done but it looks like from the responses I’m getting I will need someone else to foreclose for me. I still would like to know how it’s done.

Thanks,
Johnman

???How do you foreclose on a property??? - Posted by johnman

Posted by johnman on December 23, 1998 at 19:03:07:

Hi everyone,

Let’s say hold a mortgage and now you have to foreclose.
What is the process on foreclosing on a property? I see this mentioned quite a bit but I don’t understand it. Would someone please help me understand?

Thanks
Johnman

Re: ???How do you foreclose on a property??? - Posted by Ben Caiola, Esq.

Posted by Ben Caiola, Esq. on December 27, 1998 at 17:45:31:

I am a tax foreclosure attorney in NJ so my remarks will be limited to my area, however the theory is the same. In its simplest terms, one is “foreclosing” the right of redemption of the property owner and of junior lien holders. Redemption means to pay off or cure the delinquencies. By procuring a title search
we identify interested parties in the property (mortgage holders, other lien holders etc.) Each party must be served with a complaint and joined as a defendant in the action. In essence they are given the right to pay off our lien or they will be forever debarred of that interest. I am not going to get into
minute details but if the lien is not paid, after much paperwork the lien holder then procures a final judgment of foreclosure, extinguishes all junior interests, pays off any senior interests and gains title to the property. That having been said, in case you were wondering,please do not try to foreclose yourself, not only will you muck it up terribly but
you will be practicing law without a license.Find a competent attorney through your local bar association.

Re: ???How do you foreclose on a property??? - Posted by Bud Branstetter