House Offer turned down because of type of loan - Posted by Kathy Titus

Posted by Max-Va on June 16, 2006 at 08:34:02:

Sad but true

there is good and bad in every business, just weeding out the bad ones is hard sometimes.

House Offer turned down because of type of loan - Posted by Kathy Titus

Posted by Kathy Titus on June 14, 2006 at 12:16:52:

I’m a first time home buyer, my broker and loan officer decided that a NINA loan would be best but, my offer was turned down because the realtor listing this house didn,t know what a NINA loan was. Is this legal?

Re: House Offer turned down - Posted by Natalie-VA

Posted by Natalie-VA on June 15, 2006 at 08:18:03:

Kathy,

I’m with Max on this one. The contract should have stated “conventional financing”. I’m a RE Broker and don’t think a NINA loan is risky. Usually, the borrower has a high credit score (like yourself).

Was your offer refused in competition with other offers?

If there are no other offers, I would talk with your agent’s broker and ask them to talk with the other agent’s broker. This sounds like a matter of the agents not understanding something and being afraid of what they don’t understand.

And, yes, you can discriminate against someone for their loan type. Nothing illegal about it.

–Natalie

Re: House Offer turned down of type of loan - Posted by Max-Va

Posted by Max-Va on June 14, 2006 at 23:00:59:

I am confused here. Where did it specfi in the contract the details of the loan? This is not in the Virginia contract the agents use only the type of loan; FHA, VA, Conventional. That should have been all the listing agent sees plus the pre approval letter, which should not have showen the details. These details are covered by privicy act I believe.

House Offer turned down because of type of loan - Posted by Bill H

Posted by Bill H on June 14, 2006 at 20:47:55:

I’d get me an attorney and file suit for specific perfromance immeditely!.