Help! Bank want FMV for REO - Posted by Kevin(OK)

Posted by Kevin(OK) on October 28, 1998 at 09:34:18:

Thank you all for you replies. Bud, I am looking at a foreclosure list now and I see nothing that would tell me which banks are FHA and which ones are not. What should I be looking for? Also, I guess I must have missed the REO discussion, if you could outline the topics for me I would appreciate it. Thanks Bud.

Kevin(OK)

Help! Bank want FMV for REO - Posted by Kevin(OK)

Posted by Kevin(OK) on October 27, 1998 at 18:11:16:

This is my first time trying to deal with REO’s. The house’s FMV is 93K. The lady I talked to at the bank says “we will not accept a bid under $90K because that is what we are owed”. I said “how can you be owed that much, this is a 1987 loan for $80K”. She said “because of late fees, legal fees, accrued interest, etc., and since this is an FHA loan, HUD will pay us for all we are owed”. If this is true for all FHA loans, do I need to look at conventional lenders only for REO’s? Any advise on REO’s would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Kevin(OK)

Re: Help! Bank want FMV for REO - Posted by Millie I.

Posted by Millie I. on October 27, 1998 at 23:41:22:

Kevin,

Banks will always start high and try to get every cent back plus a little profit if possible, especially if the property is in good condition.