HELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLP???? - Posted by Barbara

Posted by Ray(OH) on November 17, 1998 at 18:33:33:

Millie,
You are too cool!

HELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLP??? - Posted by Barbara

Posted by Barbara on November 14, 1998 at 17:18:45:

I’m new at investing in distressed properties. I have a company that will give me up to 40% of net profit everytime i find them a fixer-upper property. My question is this…
Should i bother looking for properties for someone else and settling for receiving a 40% commission OR should i look for properties that I have to deal with, and get the financing and stuff for myself? If anyone here has ever dealt with companies that give a referral fee, was it worth it?
I’ll appreciate ALL responses.
Thank you.
Barbara

Re: HELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLP??? - Posted by mjs

Posted by mjs on November 16, 1998 at 17:50:42:

Hi menewbee
Get things in a contract.
guidelines

1. appraised value after fix-up
  2. purchase price
  3. repair costs + 10%
    #1 - #2 = n
    n - #3 = v
    40% of v = ttl

ex; 100k(repair value) - 50k(purchase) -20k(repairs) = 30k x 40% = 12k (paid when deal is accepted)(not to exceed 3 mo)
make sure you both understand the rules first.
If they take advantage of you the first time (move on to more $)

Re: HELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLP??? - Posted by Mark R in KCMO

Posted by Mark R in KCMO on November 15, 1998 at 12:12:15:

Barbara,

Here are a few thoughts, make sure there isn’t a non-compete agreement in thier sign up material, also find out what the define as profit, there is one organization that hires bird-dog and agrees to pay on sale, but the company moves the homes with Lease Options, with the sale years down the road. They also calculate the holding cost through the entire period and there basicly is NO profit at the end.

Your best bet would to see if they would be interested in buying flips from you. If they take it great, if they don’t either do the deal yourself, or flip it to another investor.

Hope this Helps

Mark R in KCMO