Hard money lending question - Posted by Sedg

Posted by Sedg on November 25, 1998 at 01:28:57:

Thanks for the response. Yes Stacy, u did understand the ?. I just wanted to know if I could secure financing before closing on a house. It wouldn’t be good to sign an offer sheet, give up some escrow money, and not be able to get any financing. I figured I’d ask here instead of calling a lender and adding yet another inquiry to my credit report. Paul, thx for pointing out the mortgage broker. I
thought the HM lenders and the brokers were the same. When I look in the phone book and see those ads, “Bad credit, no credit loans, etc on property”, I thought they were all in the same group. Are these the people I should be dealing w/? Thanks.

Any other suggestions for a newbie starting out would be great. Thx.

Sedg

Hard money lending question - Posted by Sedg

Posted by Sedg on November 24, 1998 at 03:21:26:

I’m a newbie here, so please bear w/ me…

I have bad credit, and have been at my job for a year & half. If I find a property, REO or a “normal” single family house, or whatever pops up, can I get a hard money lender to approve a loan for me in advance? I.e. I find a house worth $50k, existing mortgage is $10k, seller wants $20k cash…could I get an approval for $20k at this point? Or would I have to have the deed before they even think about someone like me? I can deal w/ the 15% rates, if it’ll get my foot in the door. I’m thinking that if I can get a loan somehow approved before I go to closing, then I can have the title co. dish out the down payment, closing costs, etc w/ the money from the loan. I don’t have much money to use of my own, and it wouldn’t even pay the closing costs on a cheapo home.

Can this be done? Any advice/suggestions are welcome. Thanks!

Sedg

Re: Hard money lending question - Posted by Paul Macdonald

Posted by Paul Macdonald on November 24, 1998 at 18:14:23: