Ed.. 1031 Exchange in Fresno, CA area - Posted by Russell Jacobie

Posted by Steve Flanagan on March 12, 2003 at 11:44:47:

If your income is sufficient to carry the mortgage on the condo as a second home you’ll lower your borrowing costs. Steve

Ed… 1031 Exchange in Fresno, CA area - Posted by Russell Jacobie

Posted by Russell Jacobie on March 02, 2003 at 09:08:37:

Hey all,

Well this is my first time posting on the forums. I must say the fact that Ed Garcia posts here is pretty amazing for a free access site, usually that kind of advice would cost big $$.

Anyway, I’m gonna put in my own freebie question to Ed. I have a Condo in Sacramento that is currently being rented and I’d like to do a 1031 exchange and use the equity (about $110k now after all loans paid off) to buy a 6 to maybe even a 12 plex here in fresno, depending on the GRM. I figure with the 100k I can secure a half million dollar loan, etc. Anyway, the quetion is this, can I sell a Condo that is currently rented out without the tennents permission? She has 10 months to go on her lease, so I guess I could wait, but what if she says it’s ok? I haven’t asked her yet, but is that even legal to sell a place that is rented?

Anyway, thanks for the advice, if it goes through, Ed, I’d like to use you for some future financing in California.

Thanks,
Russell Jacobie
559-903-8091

Re: Ed… 1031 Exchange in Fresno, CA area - Posted by Ed Garcia

Posted by Ed Garcia on March 02, 2003 at 11:37:18:

Russell,

Yes, you can sell the condo without the tenant’s permission.

Your choices are to negotiate an early buyout on the remaining 10 months. I would just run it buy her, to see how she reacts to the idea. Who knows Russ, she might even want to buy it.

You could offer her a free months rent for the buyout on the next place she rents.