Due diligence question - Posted by Johnny

Posted by Lyal on September 09, 2005 at 09:51:45:

Thanks CG,
That’s an interesting connection. I’ll have to do the math and see where things fall in my locale.
Lyal

Due diligence question - Posted by Johnny

Posted by Johnny on September 09, 2005 at 05:00:42:

I’m just getting started, have read a fair amount but one detail I’m wondering about. Not having enough experience to do a quality appraisal or inspection myself, it seems like I’ll have to spend maybe $800 or so on every house I’m interested in, whether or not I wind up making a deal.

Here’s what I’ve gathered so far about “Due Diligence”

1. Get an appraisal $$
  2. Get an inspection $$
  3. Have contractors out to quote repairs
  4. Get title, etc checked $

Anything I’ve missed?

AND the big question…am I right in thinking $800 on every house I’m interested in? Something doesn’t work out, I kiss the money goodby and repeat the process on the next one?

Re: Due diligence question - Posted by Lyal

Posted by Lyal on September 09, 2005 at 06:19:59:

Johnny,
I’m afraid with that approach, you’ll spend a lot of money before you buy any property. Just a couple thoughts early in the morning…

First, you need to learn your market so you can gauge home values yourself. An appraisal is just one person’s opinion of value and may or may not be accurate. Look at a LOT of houses (100+) and track some of the ones that have sold (public records at the courthouse) and you’ll start to get a feel for value.

Same with repairs. You need to get a handle on what to look for and how much it costs to fix stuff. Spend some time at Home Depot getting a feel for what materials cost. Take some of their free classes. Talk to contractors.

Caution: Maintain your perspective!! It is NOT necessary to fix things as if you were going to live there. It should look nice but, in most cases, you don’t need the maple cabinets and 6 panel doors.