Divorce-Transfer House Ownership - Posted by Constance

Posted by Rob FL on October 27, 1998 at 21:54:44:

I examine titles for a living (yeah what fun). From what I have seen, it depends on what the divorce decree says. If it says that it transfers title then it does. If it requires one spouse to give a deed to the other spouse than that is what must be done. Divorce is always a mess.

Divorce-Transfer House Ownership - Posted by Constance

Posted by Constance on October 26, 1998 at 19:19:15:

Can someone tell me what form I need to have

my husband transfer his half interest in our

home to me for $1? Quit claim, Warranty Deed,

or something else?

Thanks alot,

Constance Swiatek

Re: Divorce-Transfer House Ownership - Posted by MJS(sjca)

Posted by MJS(sjca) on October 30, 1998 at 17:02:38:

Hi I am a newbee
Check with a mortguage agt to see if you can pre-qualify yourself for a loan at a lower rate also.
This may or may not help
Good luck

Re: Divorce-Transfer House Ownership - Posted by Philly Dave

Posted by Philly Dave on October 27, 1998 at 08:37:34:

Hello, Constance!

First, I think Rob’s advice is prudent; you’ll kick yourself but hard if you try to sell the property at some later date and discover that your deed doesn’t pass muster with your buyer’s title company. Now is the time to make sure it’s done right, and you can probably have it done by an attorney for around $100.