COLD weather(off season) investing - Posted by James C

Posted by James C on November 16, 2000 at 09:09:44:

thanks Ron

COLD weather(off season) investing - Posted by James C

Posted by James C on November 15, 2000 at 19:23:10:

I am a newbie to real estate investing and I am wondering,with the cold months coming now. What does everyone do till spring hits. Do you still buy and sell your properties as normal or do you make changes to your plan. I have procrastinated long enough but fearful of getting started now,because it will be colder and people will be trying to stay in their homes till spring time. Any feedback would be appreciated, thank you…

not off season, just different - Posted by Jim IL

Posted by Jim IL on November 15, 2000 at 20:48:12:

James,
I too live in an area where we get COLD in the winter.
Sellers are still out there, and actually, the motivation level seems to be higher at this time of year.
The problem that I have is that there are fewer buyers.
Many people are less likely to move for a couple of rather common reasons.
Such as cold weather, and the fact that school is in session.
They do not want to move there kids from one school to another, or lug furniture out into the cold and possible snow. (Not to mention the fast approaching holiday season.)
But, also remember, if you negotiate a good deal, and market a good deal, there are still buyers out there, it may just take a little longer to get them to sign.
So, when you buy in the winter months, you need to factor in a longer holding time and cost.

In the winter months I try to buy as many homes as I can, while negotiating terms that will allow me to hold the homes until spring hits and/or the market picks up.
I just signed up a L/O deal today, and when the seller asked when I would start to make payments, I said, “As soon as I find a suitable tenant/buyer.”
I even had something like that in the agreement.