Chicken & egg problem? - Posted by Kim Grassfield

Posted by KimG on June 19, 2003 at 08:02:22:

Hey, I’m sorry, I didn’t connect the dots. ESB is Eastern Savings Bank of course. I thought you were using a real estate acronym I hadn’t heard yet!

Chicken & egg problem? - Posted by Kim Grassfield

Posted by Kim Grassfield on June 17, 2003 at 14:57:28:

Chicken & egg problem?

I am a contractor and a first-time investor who is rehabbing a property with my own cash and sweat, which I originally intended to flip. Life happens quickly some times and I met and married my wife, while halfway through the rehab. We fell in love with the property and want to keep it as our home. Price: $162,500. 20% down payment. ARV: $230,000 to $250,000

Several related problems:

1. Need cash to complete rehab.
  2. My income (as a licensed building contractor) and all my cash are currently tied up in the property.
  3. Banks won?t extend improvement money cause I am not showing enough income on recent tax statements. (Long story short?was a student for previous two years.)
  4. Without a change in income can?t expect to refy from my own credit/income/equity position.

Question: How do I recover my improvement costs (get income) from the property? Hard money lenders? Partners? What kind of deal should I do?

Re: Chicken & egg problem? - Posted by GMann

Posted by GMann on June 18, 2003 at 09:19:46:

Call Eastern Savings Bank (easternsavingsbank.com). They are a hard money bank. The biggest problem with your situation (outside of income/cash) is the house is in the middle of the construction/rehab process. This knocks out a lot of lenders. Every deal stands on it’s own for ESB. They will lend 65-70% and the rates and fees will prob. be high.

Re: Chicken & egg problem? - Posted by KimG

Posted by KimG on June 19, 2003 at 09:04:09:

Hey GMann, I’m sorry, I didn’t connect the dots. ESB is Eastern Savings Bank of course. I thought you were using a real estate acronym I hadn’t heard yet!