Calling all 'subject to' Pro's - Posted by Taylor

Posted by Taylor on December 11, 2000 at 02:03:39:

nt.

Calling all ‘subject to’ Pro’s - Posted by Taylor

Posted by Taylor on December 09, 2000 at 12:41:21:

Hi,
I’m new at this. I’ve been studying this board for about three months and these questions I haven’t been able to find a clear answer to in the archives. Any and all constructive answers will be greatly appreciated.

(i)When buying ‘subject to’ the existing loan is this a formal transaction that closes at an attorney’s office or a title company? Or should they just be used for researching the title?

(ii)Are there special purchase contracts that should be used on ‘subject to’ deals?

I also want to say THANK YOU to all who post on this site…whether a newbie or a seasoned veteran. Reading the answers to newbies’ questions have given me a good understanding of this thing called CRE investing and the post by the veterans are constantly sharpening different techniques. Thank you all.
Taylor.

Re: Calling all ‘subject to’ Pro’s - Posted by B.L.Renfrow

Posted by B.L.Renfrow on December 10, 2000 at 10:12:31:

As the posts below indicate, the “closing” can be done in an attorney’s office, bank or a Burger King. I usually use my attorney’s office because it’s convenient, and it ads an air of legitimacy, for sellers who are concerned about such things. But the attorney himself doesn’t participate. Rather, I just meet the sellers in his waiting room, and his secretary notarizes all the documents requiring the seller’s notarized signature. But prior to that meeting, I have already met with the sellers and explained the procedure and gone over the documents they will be signing, so there are no surprises at the last minute.

However, I’ve also done it at an empty property at 9 p.m., while bringing along a notary friend.