Buying Duplex, need $ for closing! How? - Posted by Gerard

Posted by pam on July 26, 2001 at 11:47:09:

G,
Maybe you could ask to apply for the FHA, let them come back and tell you no. Even though I am new at this, from what I’ve read, when negotiating you go ahead and ask for everything you can think of, ie: all the window coverings, all the special lighting fixtures, all the lawn furniture, the lawn mower, the barbeque grill, all the appliances, etc. etc. Then they will come back and tell you no, but they may say yes to some things that may surprise you. I guess what I am saying is, if you don’t ask for anything, you won’t get anything. Also, maybe another mortgage co. will let you ask for more than 3% from the seller, ask around, find out if there is a law in your area. Also make sure before you spend alot of $$ on rehabbing, the school system in the neighborhood is good, the area is desirable to live in, and you would be able to rent it. I forgot whether you said you have a tenant or not. Good luck!! Pam

Buying Duplex, need $ for closing! How? - Posted by Gerard

Posted by Gerard on July 25, 2001 at 14:25:58:

Hello All,

I am an absolute beginner in Real Estate and in the process of putting together my first deal on a duplex which will be my first property and primary residence.

I am financing 95% of the property with a conventional mortgage. I am worried however that I won’t have enough cash to actually close the deal, once all expenses are factored in. Actually, I’m worried about coming up with all the down payment.

There is a tenant in one unit that wants to stay. He is on a month-to-month agreement paying $600 monthly. The seller of the duplex owns is out right (owned it for 16 years).

The property has been on the market for 6 months. He’s had 2 offers fall through already for financing reasons. He told me he is selling because he has depreciated all he could out of the property and is moving on to other investments. Apparently an eager seller.