Bay Area, California market - Posted by Mike

Posted by Mike on February 07, 2006 at 13:25:00:

I’m finding all this out. I’ll post in few hours.

Bay Area, California market - Posted by Mike

Posted by Mike on February 06, 2006 at 22:48:50:

Hello, I’m a beginner investor and I’m planning to invest on a brand new two story three bedrooms loft that comes with a retail space on the first level. The price is about $650K. With the recent scare of housing price going down, does any one feel this is good investment given that price?

Mike

Re: Bay Area, California market - Posted by buying

Posted by buying on February 07, 2006 at 12:02:34:

Ah yes, from out here out in cyberspace that looks like a great deal! Better buy it immediately!

Just being sarcastic—nobody can really know if it is a good deal or not without the FACTS. What facts you say? I’d start first with its current value based upon solid comps. Then a rental/income review for each unit. The property’s condition. Your purpose for buying. Financing. Etc.

You don’t buy bargains based on FEEL. You buy based on NUMBERS.
A good deal is when you immediately profit upon buying-- meaning that some of those numbers can go right into your pocket if you turned around and sold it or rented it out.

Re: Bay Area, California market - Posted by Gebe

Posted by Gebe on February 07, 2006 at 24:03:23:

My quick math would suggest with a reasonable loan (30% fixed 20% Down) the property would need to rent for $5200 a month to cash flow.

Re: Bay Area, California market - Posted by whyK-CA

Posted by whyK-CA on February 06, 2006 at 23:42:29:

Tell us more about how you are planing on making money with this property.

Re: Bay Area, California market - Posted by mike

Posted by mike on February 07, 2006 at 24:31:11: