Assumptions (no, not the RE kind) - Posted by Steve W.

Posted by Berwyn on December 28, 1998 at 11:13:21:

>“Where do I purchase Jim Napier’s book…“Invest in Debt”?”<

You can find all about it at
http://www.kokodir.com/Napier.html

I’ll be calling to order my copy when I log off today.

Assumptions (no, not the RE kind) - Posted by Steve W.

Posted by Steve W. on December 27, 1998 at 14:13:11:

Reading this article from “Cash Flow”, I was struck by how much a seasoned professional in this business ASSUMES we all know. As a newbie, I DO NOT know the meaning of his use of PV and FV in the mathematical examples below. Could someone help me out?

26% Yield
With No Competition
by John D. Behle

ONE OF MY students sent me this example. It’s a good example of a note that many might not be able to calculate, would turn away from, and many funding sources would not buy. Yet, when I can invest some of my money at a 26% yield, I’m happy. The best deals and profits in this industry come through your creativity.
Dear John,
Here’s a note that came in yesterday. Try running this one through your calculator.

The loan is about 2 months old and goes as much as 36 months. The loan is structured with three scenarios. If the loan is paid in full before 24 months, then the note bears 0% interest with no payments (just one lump sum payment). If the note goes past 24 months, then there is an interest rate of 5% that applies for the whole time period and interest only payments from the 24th month. If the note goes all the way to 36 months, then there is an interest rate of 10% that applies to the full amount.

The seller said he is “hoping for $20,000” and would probably just buy the note himself with one of his investment accounts. Others he has talked to convinced him that an 18% yield would be what investors would acquire. Assuming the property and LTV are acceptable, what would you pay for the note?

Frank, January 6, 1998