125 % LTV - Posted by timW

Posted by Tom – IN on July 16, 2001 at 13:24:01:

Tim, Mark said it good. Listen to him.

125 % LTV - Posted by timW

Posted by timW on July 16, 2001 at 07:08:57:

I have a question regarding 125 % LTV? We have a lot of credit card debt? I was thinking about doing a 125 % LTV on my home? Would this be a good ideal??? Also is the 25% above the value of my home tax deductible?

Thanks
Tim

Re: 125 % LTV - Posted by KatieFL

Posted by KatieFL on July 16, 2001 at 22:02:56:

I also agree with everybody else who posted. I am an investor and an agent, and from both ways I see what happens sometimes to people who were promised to cut their debt payments by mortgage companies trying to make some money. I just sold a house as an agent, the owners of which did not plan to move for a long time and needed some debts paid. But as already was said, things change. They had to move out of state. The problem was that they owed $18K more on the house than it’s worth. First of all, you can’t sell a house if underlying mortgages are not paid off. So we went through a long battle with mortgage companies to discount the loans and take the liens off. It was either that or foreclosure. Well, they discounted by $1,000, so now these people have to pay $17K for a long time for a house that they used to live in. Not a good idea.

The problem is that you would end up paying those credit card debts for the next 30 years, whereas most likely you could pay them off a lot sooner.

Katie

Tax Deduction - Posted by TJ

Posted by TJ on July 16, 2001 at 20:15:05:

The borrowed amount above the value of your home (the 25% part) is NOT legally tax deductible.

Re: 125 % LTV - Posted by CurtNY

Posted by CurtNY on July 16, 2001 at 12:54:35:

Tim,